cert chart

The Texas Municipal Clerks Certification Program is a self-paced distance learning program that consists of four courses.

Each of the four courses consists of the following homework, an examination and two seminars.

Enrollees complete four modules of homework in each of the four courses. The homework is completed and submitted for grading via the online learning management system.

Each course will require approximately 50 hours of study. The courses may be taken in any order.

The four TMCCP courses are as follows:


Course 1: Public Management and Administration

Course 2: Understanding the City and Local Government Law

Course 3: Context of Local Government Finance, Revenue Sources, Local Budget, Budget Cycle, Public Funds Investment, and Ethics

Course 4: Motivation, Public Relations, Supervision, and Election Laws

An enrollee completes the Certification Program at their own pace. Homework is done one course at a time, submitting homework online as it is completed. The enrollee takes an exam over each course's completed homework. The enrollee also attends eight TMCCP seminars throughout the process. When a course is completed, the enrollee is given a certificate for that course.

How long does it take to finish the Certification Program?

Since the program is self-paced, completion times vary. There is a time limit of 10 years to complete the Certification Program (at which point the enrollee must start over). Most enrollees complete the program in far less time. The fastest an enrollee can complete the program is in 2-3 years, based on their ability to attend the needed TMCCP seminars held throughout the state and their completion of all homework and exams.

Three years of TMCA membership are a requirement of certification. If you are not already a member of the Texas Municipal Clerks Association become one today, click here to learn more!

When the enrollee finishes all four courses, the enrollee is now a graduate of the program, earning a final certificate and the Texas Registered Municipal Clerk, TRMC, designation. After certification, recertification is required every five years.

How to Get Started: 

If you have any questions, please contact our office.